HYam Award with Fondation Jean-Luc Lagardère - Maria Tsagkari, winner

Greek artist Maria Tsagkari
First winner of HYam’s Young mediterranean artistic scene Award 
July 2014


The international committee members of the first Young Mediterranean Artistic Scene Award, launched by Pauline Simons, founder of HYam (Hydra for Artists of the Mediterranean), in partnership with the Jean-Luc Lagardère Foundation, have gathered on July 2nd at Artcurial and chose the Greek artist Maria Tsagkari as the Award winner. An endowment of 10 000 euros, given by Pauline Simons and François Tajan, in the name of HYam, will support her artistic work on cultural identity and help her to acquire more visibility at an international level.

The committee members of the First Young Mediterranean Artistic Scene Award, chaired by Alain Seban, President of the Centre Georges Pompidou, are the following: Giorgos Agouridis, President of the Cultural Center of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation, Adelina von Fürstenberg, General curator of the last biennale in Thessaloniki and founder of the NGO Art For the World, Katerina Gregos, Curator and artistic director of Art Brussels, Anna Kafetsi, Director of the EMST (Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens), Maria Kokkinou and Andreas Kourkoulas, Architects and creators of the new Benaki Museum in Athens, Thierry Ollat, Director of the MAC (Museum of Contemporary Art in Marseille), Thaddaeus Ropac and Xenia Geroulanos, from the Gallery Thaddaeus Ropac Paris-Salzburg, Emmanuel Saulnier, Artist and professor at the Superior National School of Fine Arts-Beaux-Arts of Paris and François Tajan, Co-president of Artcurial.


Image: Maria Tsagkari, ευχαρiστω (MERCI), 2012, Installation de 30m2, cendres. Vue de l’installation de l’œuvre pour la 4ème Biennale d’art contemporain de Thessalonique, 2013